Defection Hits PDP, SDP As Scores Join APC In Oyo


Sep 25, 2022 , ,


No fewer than twenty political party members in Oyo State were on Saturday decamped to the major opposition All Progressives Congress (APC) ahead of the 2023 general elections.

The decampees were received during a local meeting of the party held at Elekuro High School, Ogbere in Ona-Ara area of the state.

It was gathered that the decampees were received by Senator Teslim Folarin, the APC gubernatorial candidate and the Oyo Central Senatorial Candidate, Dr. Yunus Akintunde.

It was reported that the decampees from the ruling party in the state were led by Mogaji Akinjide, while Elder A Kalejaye led the SDP decampees into the APC.

Alhaji Fatai Ibikunle, the Chairman, National Lottery Commission, welcomed the decampees to the APC on behalf of Folarin.

Ibikunle assured them of fairness and equity in their new party, promising that they would benefit from every opportunity regarding the welfare of members without sentiments.

According to him, “I welcome you to our great party, APC as new members, and assure you of all rights accrued to the rest of our members.

“We will ensure that you benefit from every opportunity regarding the welfare of members without sentiments,”

He charged the new members to aggressively mobilize for the victory of all APC candidates in the 2023 General elections.

Akinjide, who led the PDP decampees said they were pleased with the reception accorded them by Folarin.

Kalejaye, who led the SDP decampees said the performance of Folarin and his emergence as APC gubernatorial candidate informed their defection.

He said that the victory of APC in the 2023 general elections would benefit Ona-Ara Local Government Area and the entire state.

Folarin lauded the decampees, saying they made the right decision by joining APC.

He promised to carry the defectors along in all party affairs and ensure that they benefitted from all available opportunities.

The gubernatorial candidate urged them to go to their various wards and attend party meetings regularly for updates concerning the party.

It was learned that Kolawole Waliyu (Ikoko) and Alhaji Amidu Olapade were among other leaders who defected to the APC.

Folarin was accompanied by Alhaji Kehinde Olaosebikan, Mr Hammed Bodunrin, Mr Remi Sodiq, Mr Waheed Ajibade and Mr Mojeed Delesolu among others.

WP2Social Auto Publish Powered By :