INEC Issues Certificates Of Return To Governor-elect, Nwifuru, 17 Others

The Independent National electoral commission, INEC, in Ebonyi has issued certificates of return to the governor-elect, Francis Nwifuru, of the ruling All Progressives Congress, APC, and 17 other members of the state House of Assembly that were elected during the election.

The State Resident Electoral Commissioner, REC, Mrs. Pauline Onyeka while, addressing stakeholders and people of the state at the INEC headquarters in Abakaliki, said that the commission will hold supplementary elections in five State House of Assembly constituencies and one Federal Constituency in Ebonyi State on April 15.

Onyeka noted that only 17 out of the 24 state constituencies have their results announced and elections concluded.

She said that five constituencies have inconclusive results while two constituencies have issues which the commission is currently resolving.

According to her: “Only 17 members-elect will receive their certificate out of 24 due to inconclusiveness. Two have issues to be corrected while elections were declared inconclusive in five state constituencies,” she said.

She noted that the election for Ezza North/Ishielu Federal Constituency was also declared inconclusive.

The INEC National Electoral Commissioner, in charge of Ebonyi, Enugu and Imo States, Kenneth Ukeagu, however, handed over the certificates to Nwifuru and deputy, Mrs. Patricia Obila, as well as 17 other members of the House of Assembly.

Responding, Nwifuru appreciated INEC for conducting a free and fair electoral process in the state.

The governor-elect, Nwifuru promised that his administration will run an all inclusive government.

He promised that the people’s input will be sought before taking critical decisions by his administration.

WP2Social Auto Publish Powered By :